Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Céline & Yannick in Peru
2 janvier 2009

Short live the Cuy!

On my latest trip inside Peru, I went to San Vincente de Cañete (other article to come soon, hopefully), and got invited to eat cuy (guinea pig) in a cuy farm.

I took very explicit pictures of the cuy in my plate, so for the faint of heart I decided not to show it here (I'm trying to figure out the best way to show it to non-faint-of-heart only).

Anyway, a cuy farm is something like this (see me standing next to my next meal):

PC130083

PC130085

Apparently, in a matter of 12 weeks, there's a complete new cycle of cuys, so all of these 900 cuy actually are born and killed in 12 weeks time (and then it starts all over again).

The cuy has a taste of something between chicken and rabbit, but is quite difficult to eat (not much meat), which makes it an expensive meal for high-standing parties.

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité