Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Céline & Yannick in Peru
7 juillet 2008

Everything is just... fine

I just wanted to give you a little update (it's been a long time).
Céline is in New Zealand, still, and her parents should be leaving her soon so she'll be on her own again for a few days or a few weeks, depending on whether a friend from Australia is going to come and visit New Zealand with her or not.

While she's having fun, I'm having fun in a different manner. My company here has started to pick up some work (first invoice made from Peru to Peru last Friday, so I was a happy man) and a bunch of very professional prospects (not the usual kind that are interested for a day and then never contact me again because their needs and my company's services just don't match) are waiting for offers which I should be starting to write tonight.
Of course, as everything is always soooo easy, the work from Belgium has doubled at the same time, which is kind of putting me in a bad situation as I wanted to take July week-ends off to practice paragliding.

I've been organising a small meeting at the end of June with like-minded open-source software developers from Lima, which was both fun and interesting, and Paul and Lisseth (Céline's friends from work) have just had a baby (a huge one, from what I can remember of my nephew) so we're not really going to the movies anymore.

Yesterday, I smoked my first cigar ever as an experiment to help Paul keep faithful to his country's tradition of celebrating the new born by smoking cigars. It was fun, but I'm not a smoking addict so that will probably be the only one until the next new-born Canadian baby I will know of.

Apart from all that, well I've been running around Lima meeting with clients (which adds up to a considerable amount of money in taxi), with Lima keeping true to itself, nothing fancy happening... (that I know of).

Ah yeah, I've been to the water park, a kind of large park on the way to avenue Wilson where there are a lot of water fountains with interesting designs - some time-based, some music-based, some height-based. The entry fee was something like 6 Soles, and I personally think it was worth it, but wouldn't do that twice in the same 5 years (it would just be the same, really).

I have now two employees (guys) and an intern (a girl) which I'm trying to keep busy doing interesting and profitable stuff (so far, all good).

Publicité
Commentaires
Y
Great! I need a little bit of practice. I tried watching one (un-subtitled) episode of an animated manga this week-end (45 minutes though), in raw Japanese, but they definitely use the plain Japanese form too much for me to get it. I got about 10% though, which I'm not considering to be too bad either.<br /> <br /> Céline is going to Japan at the end of September. I think she'll land in Tokyo and then move around a little (it's still a few weeks away, so I'm not too sure).
C
I am glad you are doing well there.<br /> By the way, I am going back to Japan for holiday very soon (^_^). I will send you a card reminding you some Japanese language.
Publicité
Publicité