Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Céline & Yannick in Peru
8 février 2008

Belgian beers in Peru

To those searching the internet for Belgian beers in Peru, I'm afraid the answer is hard to hear: there isn't. Except maybe for the common Stella Artois, which is slightly cheaper than local beers.

The thing is that, after looking for Belgian beers for a while , I slowly got to accept the fact that I wouldn't find any. Vivanda, one of the posh "tourist" supermarkets around in Miraflores, has some Belgian chocolates and German beers, but no Belgian beers, nope.

So after bringing some of them back from Belgium (you know how crazy those people handling your suitcases in airports can be, and you know that you cannot take liquids inside the plane), I thought it would be a good thing to point out that at least *some* beers have made it to Peru, and to immortalise the instant by taking a picture.

Ladies and gentlemen, I am happy to present, in exclusivity, a Chimay bleue, a Kriek and a Westmalle Triple in Lima, Peru. While walking around in their new environment, they met with a nice, very local, couple of Cusqueña and Pisco.

P2060169m

But don't worry, because they also have some "eau de vie" in 7L bottles around here...

P2060164

Well, anyway, I'm taking the opportunity to let you know that I am almost fine (got sick with Peruvian food again) and have returned here on the 21st of January as planned.
We had an internet cut again (Telefónica del Perú again) because apparently they sent one invoice just after we left in December and one just before I returned in January, so I didn't pay, so they cut me off. It's taken them 2 full days since the moment I paid to reconnect me, although I am a business customer and pay them now more than the lowest legal Peruvian income per month.

It's summer here, as you might have read in the latest posts. We have like 24°C right now and almost no clouds (which is good for Miraflores).

I've been visiting a lot of friends in Belgium, then my Spanish family, then I got back here.
I'm currently catching up on work (it's incredible the amount of administrative work that gets in the way, and my accountant here in Peru doesn't seem to be of great help either, although they do charge me US$170 per month for accounting and hosting of my official headquarters).
I have made an official proposal to a new developer to come and work with me from next Thursday. He'll be at S./2200 per month, which is a lot for Peru, but then he really seems like a nice developer, so I don't think I'm going to have too many problems making his work profitable.

We are having one of Céline's co-worker at home with her boyfriend at the moment as they had little organisation problems. They will stay for two weeks. They're nice.

I've been trying to contact Lorenzo for a while now (by e-mail) but he doesn't seem to read them, so I'll give him a phone call soon.

Oh well, there are so many things to say... I'll just write more in a week or so. If you have questions, don't hesitate to leave a comment. You have to leave your e-mail address but it will not display on the blog, don't worry.

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité